March 30, 2011
-
36 1/2 weeks

Why yes, I am still vastly pregnant with the largest child in the world. Ever. I am enduring. I’m not even 37 weeks yet, and I am enduring. Sigh. Over the past few weeks, I have often wished that I could just go to sleep and sleep until I woke up in labor, because I am always so tired anyways, and moving around or even laying down feels like a massive chore that requires lots of wincing and belly adjusting. I am pretty sure this is the biggest I have been; I don’t remember the skin on my stomach feeling this stretched before, even with Israel. It is sooooooo tight!!!! I’ve gained 30 lbs, which is the most weight I have gained with any of them. I have strangers exclaim over me and tell me I am going to have this baby any day!!! and then get very wide eyes when I tell them I’m not due until April 24th. I always heartily appreciate this expression of support.
I’m like – that’s what I’m sayin’!!!Waddle. Waddle waddle. Wince. Belly rub. Pained expression.
She often is awake around 1 or 1:30 AM and I often can’t sleep because it is so uncomfortable when she is moving around, stretching out my sides and belly; she just feels crammed in a small space. Over the past week or two, I have had some return of queasiness, especially when I brush my teeth. Or if I think too much about something random I am eating, like cilantro. I have been SUPER tired. As in SUPER. See why I am ready for this to be done with?
She hasn’t dropped. The midwife today said that she could feel plenty of fluid around the baby, and pressed my hand on a big fluid pocket through my skin. She was laying posteriorly today, her back against my back; hope she changes that before labor!!!
No thank you to back labor, please…I tested positive with my Beta Strep test or whatever they call it; that means I need to get IV antibiotics at least 2 hours before her birth, ideally 4; which cuts into my plan to labor at home as long as possible. Hopefully I can use the tub they do have at Nanticoke – that’s my new plan. We’ll see!
The other day I thought about the fact that I haven’t had any dreams about this baby yet; usually I have had some weird dream about having the baby and doing something distracted with it, forgetting about it. I think it’s because I don’t really feel much anxiety at all about her birth, just eagerness. The next night after I thought that, I had a dream…ABOUT BEING VASTLY PREGNANT. Lol. :)
I know. I sound lament-y. I just can’t wait to meet her.
Her heart rate was 134, just like normal. The only thing I feel vaguely anxious about is that she will actually turn out to be a boy instead of a girl, since our ultrasound was so hurried and we didn’t have any pictures hardly at all, and her heart rate is low like the boys was. But so was mine when I was in utero, according to my mom. And this pregnancy has been so different from my other three. So I think we’re on target for Team Pink. :) And when I say “anxious”, I don’t mean “worried”. I would seriously laugh if “she” was a “he” – I just want to make sure I KNOW either way.
I am of course grateful for all kinds of things regarding this pregnancy…I’m just having a grouse session. I’ll be cheerier next week. I think.
Comments (11)
You are still so cute, even at the end!
But your post puts me back about eight months ago when I thought that I would surely die if I didn’t go into labor RIGHT THAT MINUTE. *shudder* Hang in there, it won’t be much longer (and for your sake hopefully sooner rather than later)! Can’t wait to see a Miller GIRL!
@katy - Thanks Katy…and that’s exactly how I feel – how long did you go with that feeling of “must go into labor NOW!!!”?? Of course, I can’t technically feel that way until Sunday. Then I’ll be 37 weeks… So you know I’m totally patient and comfortable until then…
Oh, wow! Remembering those feelings with you. Praying she comes in a timely manner and you have the strength to endure to the end.
Well, you know, you have the consolation #1 that it’ll be one or the other…no matter which team wins, and consolation #2 that the hospital is only a couple of blocks away.
Bless your heart and all your other pregnant parts! =)
Your belly is sooo big, and the rest of you remains little. I’m sure you are exhausted carrying around this little lady! I can’t wait to see her little face.
LOVE you.
Lynette
Did I ever tell you that Isaiah was a girl according to two ultrasounds? xoxo
Melissa Yoder. This does not bring peace to my poor little pregnant heart. Lol. Well, I will have a good story if that’s the case…wide eyes. I always did want a surprise baby…
Stacie – Thanks!!
Sue – This is true. No puppies or kittens are expected; just a boy or a girl.
And I am very comforted to know how close the hospital is, indeed.
Lynette – Love you too!!
Ohhh 30lbs……..If I ever reach 4 kids that means I’ll be gaining …..like 1000. Since I gained 46 the first time…..hehehe.
You do look great and, I too, am pulling for team pink.
@Amber Cullum - Lol – well, I’m not done yet. Maybe I’ll catch ya.
Carrie, even when you feel miserable you write blog posts that make me laugh with joy. if team pink wins, can you imagine how protected and potentially princessed she will be?
Oh my word, this is fantastic! Carrie, you look amazing! Albeit a HUGE belly. I love it! I didn’t even know you were pregnant, but now I’m excited to hear the news when she comes! And, seriously, 30 lbs? If I only I didn’t gain more than that with any of mine. I gained 50 plus with every one of them!!!! You look great! -colleen S.